Being Moldable and Remaining in God’s Hands

Continued from here.

In the Bible study of Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God, Henry Blackaby talks about the potter and the clay from Jer. 18:1-6. He says that just like the pot in the potter’s hands,

To be God’s servant, you must be moldable and remain in the hand of the Master.”

I used to not do either one and was miserable. In March 2003, I climbed into the hands of the Master by committing to spending my first hour with God daily. He filled me with His love and then started molding me, leading me to release my bitterness by forgiving my child abusers. He then led me to humble myself in my marriage and breathed new life into those dry bones. And then he led me to submit to authority, which is still an area where the clay can be a bit stiff, but God is working with me by degrees.

All of this molding has come about by remaining in the potter’s hands. I have stayed committed to my daily quiet time with God, which I believe is critical to the molding that has taken place inside of me. I am now learning that one hour is not enough. I cannot focus on God for one hour and then my problems for the other 23. It’s not enough to climb into the potter’s hands for one hour and then hop out for the rest of my day. I need to rest in those hands throughout the day, recognizing that He is moving in the situations that I keep running ahead to try to fix myself. God created me with an assertive and zealous nature, but those qualities only benefit God’s kingdom when used at the appointed time and in the appointed way.

Patience does not come naturally to me, but perhaps it’s easier to be patient when I rest in the hands of the Master. At the appointed time, He will tell me to act, and then He will do the work, parting waters that I could never part myself.

[Graphic: Cover of Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God (Workbook)Courtesy Amazon.com.]

 

One thought on “Being Moldable and Remaining in God’s Hands

Leave a Reply

