Armor of God Addendum: Praise & Worship

amenContinued from here.

While this last component is not included in Paul’s explanation of the Armor of God in Ephesians 6, I am including praise & worship as an addendum because it is such an important part of my own personal experience when I find myself under heavy spiritual attack. As I shared here, Brian Johnson of Bethel Music called praise & worship the anesthesia for the Word’s surgery. I also find it to be anesthesia for heavy spiritual warfare.

This is not unique to me. Before Gideon launched his attack against the Midianites, he spent time worshiping God:

When Gideon heard the dream and its interpretation, he bowed down and worshiped. He returned to the camp of Israel and called out, ‘Get up! The LORD has given the Midianite camp into your hands.’” ~ Judges 7:15

As we worship God, we orient ourselves toward God rather than our problems/spiritual attack. God is bigger than anything we face, and the act of worshiping God helps us zoom in on the size of our God rather than the size of whatever we are facing. As we do this, our spirits are in a better position to “hear” from God. I often find I suddenly “know the answers” after I spend time worshiping God. It’s like he slips the answer I have been seeking into my brain while I am busy worshiping Him.

While praise & worship does not require music, I find Christian music to be very helpful in orienting myself back to God. I am musical by nature, so singing along with words directing me to focus on who God is and what He has done powerfully positions me into a posture or praise & worship.

If you are not musical, you can accomplish the same thing by reading aloud from the Psalms. Choose a Psalm that focuses on characteristics of God or specific things He has done, and read it aloud. You can also thank God for specific attributes of His character you appreciate as well as specific ways He has been faithful to you in the past.

Notice that I encourage you to praise and worship God using your voice. While we can certainly praise and worship God “in our heads,” I find doing so aloud to be more powerful preparation for spiritual warfare. If I am feeling defeated, I’ll even include my entire body in my praise & worship, such as by standing, raising my hands, or even dancing around the room (alone, of course!) Bringing my full body into the process of praise & worship is the fastest way I have found to reorient myself to God when I have been losing spiritual battles by allowing my problems to appear larger to me than God.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace holding up her hands and saying, “Amen.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

 

3 thoughts on “Armor of God Addendum: Praise & Worship

  1. […] have actually found an eighth component that has been powerful in my spiritual warfare as well: worship. Repeatedly in the Bible, worship preceded great victory, such as before Gideon defeated the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

