Armor of God: Shield of Faith

sword_and_shieldContinued from here.

The fourth piece of armor is the shield of faith:

In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.” ~ Eph. 6:16

Faith is a critical part of the Christian walk, and you are helpless when under spiritual attack if you don’t pick up your shield of faith. Using your shield of faith also pleases God:

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. ~ Heb. 11:6

It’s easy to have faith when things are going well. It’s a whole different ballgame when everything in your life is blowing up around you. It’s in those moments – when you are tempted to doubt God’s faithfulness and goodness – that what you actually believe surfaces. If you really believe that God exists and that He will reward you, regardless, of what you are seeing in your life, then you are taking up your shield of faith. You will act based upon what you believe, not upon what you know theoretically when things are going well.

I saw Beth Moore in Greenville, SC a few years ago at a Living Proof Live event. I felt convicted when she said that dreading the future is liking being a walking billboard of God’s unfaithfulness. I knew God is faithful but did not actually believe it, resulting in me advertising God’s unfaithfulness to world. I knew that I had stop but didn’t know how, so I looked for a Bible verse to tie together God’s faithfulness being a shield. I found it in Psalm 91:

He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. ~ Ps. 91:4

Whenever I am tempted to dread anything, I recite this passage of scripture and remind myself (my soul) that God was faithful before and will be faithful again. This specific strategy is how I take up my shield of faith, enabling me to continue trusting God as my circumstances try to lure me into doubting Him.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace dressed as a warrior, holding a sword and shield between the words, “Brace yourself.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

 

3 thoughts on “Armor of God: Shield of Faith

Leave a Reply

