Armor of God: Shoes of the Gospel of Peace

peaceContinued from here.

The third piece of armor is the shoes of the gospel of peace:

…and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.” ~ Eph. 6:15

Wearing the shoes of the gospel of peace is what enables you to keep standing when everything in your life is quaking:

Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.” ~ Eph. 6:13

We must ground ourselves in God’s peace, trusting that He is in control, even when our circumstances scream otherwise.

This is where I am in my life right now. As I previously shared, I was recently fired for refusing to do something I believe is both unethical and unlawful, so I am currently unemployed. My extended family is dealing with strife. My closest family members have been struggling with health issues, as is true for some of my closest friends. Other close friends are dealing with heavy emotional issues. Everywhere I look in my life is quaking. If I was not wearing my shoes of peace, I would be an emotional basket case right now.

Casting Crowns’ newest song, Oh My Soul, captures the dynamic of our fear colliding with our faith. Whether or not we are wearing our shoes of peace will determine what happens – whether we will remain standing in trust with God or flat on our backs, weighed down by our fear.

That song does a wonderful job of putting to music the same “putting on your shoes of peace” strategy demonstrated by Psalm 42. When fear arises, talk to your soul. Remind your soul that your God is bigger than your circumstances. Remind your soul that God has been faithful before and will be faithful again. God gives you the choice of where to place your focus – on your problems or on your God. Talking directly to your soul is a great way to step outside of your fear and see it more objectively from the perspective of God being in control, which is the key to putting on your shoes of peace.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace holding up foam fingers of the peace sign. Courtesy Bitmoji.]

 

3 thoughts on “Armor of God: Shoes of the Gospel of Peace

Leave a Reply

