Remaining Faithful in Small Things

yes_sirContinued from here.

If you are not faithful in small challenges, you will find it very difficult to be faithful in large ones. In Jesus’ parable of the bags of gold, he said,

His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’” ~ Matt. 25:21

However, the master in the parable rebuked the servant who had not been faithful in a small thing, saying:

So take the bag of gold from him and give it to the one who has ten bags. For whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them.’” ~ Matt. 25:28-29

Taking a big stand that could cost your job is challenging, even when you know you are doing the right thing. What equipped me to stand my ground was having been faithful in smaller areas. For example, God placed on my heart a couple of years ago that I needed to respect governmental authority by obeying the speed limit. I grew up in large city where posted speed limit signs are blatantly disregarded, and people who only drive 5 miles over the speed limit are mocked and loathed by other drivers. I did not want to obey the speed limit, particularly considering I am unlikely to suffer any consequence for “mild speeding,” but God’s message was firm.

My decision to obey the speed limit is not popular. Other drivers dramatically pass me regularly. My teenager thinks I am being absolutely ridiculous, and even my husband mocks me for “driving like an old grandma.” Some friends are amused while others insist on driving because my “slow driving” is an annoyance. However, I love God more than I want other drivers, my friends, or even my own family to approve of my choices. If I was unwilling to be faithful in this small thing, how much more difficult would it have been for me to be faithful in big thing that cost me my job?

If you want to be faithful in big ways for God, start small. If you will not say no to the rated R-movie because you fear your friends’ disapproval, you are not going to have the resolve to say no when much more is at stake. Small steps in faithfulness lead to giant leaps later.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace dressed in fatigues. standing in a military tank, and saluting while saying, “Yes sir.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Remaining Faithful in Small Things

Leave a Reply

