Do You Love God More Than Anything Else?

Continued from here.

As I stated in my last blog entry, I never once considered backing down from doing what is right, even though it ultimately cost me my job. While this was not easy for me to do, it truly was a simple decision because I love God more than I love anything else, even my family’s health insurance, financial security, and my professional reputation. If I must choose between God and these other things, which also matter to me, God wins.

It’s hard for me to say whether I would have made the same decision a few years ago. While I respected and admired God, I did not actually begin loving God until March 2013, when I started spending the first hour of my day with Him. Loving God changes everything. I might be willing to endure some challenges for people I respect and admire, but when push comes to shove, it’s only those I love who I would be willing to make major sacrifices for.

When you are faced with a big decision like I was, the Enemy will try to muddy the waters by taking what should be simple and making it complicated: “Don’t you care about your family’s well-being? Look at what you are costing your family – it’s not all about you. What about your responsibility to them? Look how hard you have worked to build up your professional reputation. Are you really going to throw it all away over this one issue? Nobody else is taking this stand, so why are you? If they are willing to do it, then why aren’t you? Do you think you are better than they are? Why not just walk away quietly? Simply quit, and then nobody ever has to know…”

God’s truth is always simple … not easy, but simple. Either I love Him more, or I don’t. If I love Him, I will stand up for what is right, even when it comes at great cost. As Henry Blackaby says in Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God , if we have an obedience problem, we have a love problem. The more you love God, the easier it becomes to obey Him, even when obedience comes at great cost.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cover of Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God . Courtesy Amazon.]

2 thoughts on “Do You Love God More Than Anything Else?

Leave a Reply

