Choosing Life

toasterContinued from here.

So, then, what does it mean to choose life? In a word, Jesus. Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. Follow Jesus, and he will transform you from death to life, which is why he came in the first place. Paul summed up how to do this here:

If you declare with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved. As Scripture says, ‘Anyone who believes in him will never be put to shame.’” ~ Rom. 10:9-11

This is what it means to choose Jesus as your Savior and Lord, which is choosing life. Simply tell Jesus that you are sorry for living in death and that you want to live in life through him. It really is that simple, although I have said many times that simple is not the same thing as easy.

It’s hard to humble yourself, admit that you have made a mess of your life, and that you need a Savior. You know what’s even harder? Being dead … living only for yourself … making your own judgments about what is “good” and “bad” … bearing the consequences of those decisions because your worldview is skewed … being mired in bitterness toward everyone who has wronged you … taking advantage of other people before they take advantage of you… Being dead is hard work!

I gave up a lot when I became a Christian. I gave up my “right” to live my life however I feel like living. You know what else I gave up? Being dead! I gave up reliving all of the ways that my abusers harmed me … fixating on my bitterness … judging everyone around me while worrying about their judgments of me … suicidal urges … an eating disorder … severe anxiety disorder … panic attacks … self-injury … Yes, I gave up a lot for God, and following Christ was the best decision I ever made!

Jesus did not come to make bad people good. He came to make dead people live. Are you ready to live?

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace popping out of a toaster saying, “Not bad. How are things in your life?” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

One thought on “Choosing Life

Leave a Reply

