Jesus Came to Make Dead People Live

deadI have previously shared that I am enrolled as a student in Divinity School. In one of the lectures, the speaker said something so simple and yet so profound that I have been mulling this over for days:

Jesus Christ did not come to make bad people good, but to make dead people alive.”

I do not know who to attribute the original quote to. This was tweeted by Ravi Zacharias, but a version of this quote is also included in a newsletter for the C.S. Lewis Institute in an article written by Thomas A. Tarrants, III. Regardless of who originally said it, it’s brilliant, and I am grateful to have heard it because this quote succinctly encapsulates the Christian faith.

I am always disturbed when I hear someone assume that my walk with God is about my efforts to “be good.” Believe me – I have no illusions about my “goodness.” Nothing within me is “good” apart from God. I know where I have been and what I have done. I know that by God’s standards, I am a murderer. While I have never taken a physical life, I have repeatedly relished envisioning torturing and murdering my abusers in such sick and twisted ways that it’s a wonder even God could forgive such evil … and yet He has!

Not only do I know what I have thought and done, but I also know my complete inability to be able to overcome my deep-seated drive to be “bad” – to be selfish, play God by judging others, and inflict my will on everyone around me. This drive of “badness” comes as naturally as breathing. While I might look sweet and innocent on the outside, there’s nothing sweet and innocent on the inside beyond what God has redeemed.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace’s head sticking out of the ground in front of a tombstone that says, “I’m Dead.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Jesus Came to Make Dead People Live

  1. […] is really about life, not just in heaven but on earth as well. As I previously shared, Jesus did not come to make “bad” people “good” but to make dead people live. Working out […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

