Reflecting on the Value of the Detour

ready_for_takeoffContinued from here .

I am wrapping up a series based on Tony Evans’ sermon series on detours. I have been on a detour for a couple of years and sensed in my spirit that this season is coming to an end 8 months ago. I don’t know why God revealed this to me back in November while I am still sitting in the pit of this detour, but I have learned a lot that I would like to share.

When I reflect upon my character over the past 8 months as well as the past few years, I see many changes that will likely better equip me to do what God has called me to do. I have learned that God is faithful and quite able to equip me to experience joy, peace, and contentment while in a season of waiting in a pit. This lesson has not come easily. I have learned that I am 100% dependent upon God in every aspect of my life, even the little things. The more I cling to God, the more joy and peace I experience. Conversely, the more I try to power through on my own strength, the more miserable I become.

I have learned how to be sincerely happy and grateful as I help others get out the same pit that I am still stuck in. I could have spent this time mired in bitterness and driven by envy, but God has shaped my character so that my love for others outweighs my temptation to envy them. I do not question whether God loves them more than me. I can truly celebrate with those who celebrate without making their successes about my “failures.” In a society filled with comparisons, developing this characteristic is truly a gift.

In a broader sense, God has taught me how not to make my interactions with other people be about me. God has given me compassion and empathy that I did not have before. When people in the same pit share their own woes, I am no longer tempted to commiserate. Instead, my focus is on what they need. One gift I can give them is my faith – my deep-seated trust that even in the same pit, I know my God is faithful and will deliver me in His timing. My confidence encourages their confidence as we both shift our focus from our pits to our God.

As I see the light at the end of the tunnel approaching, I am viewing this life detour in a different way. This detour was never about punishment and condemnation. This has been God’s way of doing construction on my character so when I reach my destination, I will be the “mighty warrior” equipped to do God’s will in a way that never would have been possible without the detour.

Link to Evans’ Sermon Notes.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace waving out an airplane window saying, “Ready for takeoff.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

One thought on “Reflecting on the Value of the Detour

Leave a Reply

