Finding Hope in Detours

helpContinued from here.

When I reached the part of Tony Evans’ sermon series on detours that addressed how to know that we are reaching the end of our detour, I cried through much of it because it explained what was going on my life that I found particularly frustrating. I found myself helping other people out of their pits while still being stuck in my own. The dynamic was similar to Joseph’s plight, where he wanted out of prison, helped someone else get out of prison, and stayed stuck in the same prison for two more years, wondering what the heck??

This got me thinking about something I learned from Tony Evans as well as from Joyce Meyer, which is the concept of giving to others what you want for yourself. For example, if I need financial provision, I need to give money to help others in needs. If I need a friend, I need to give friendship to others who need a friend. Joseph needed to get out of prison, so he planted the seeds for what he needed by helping someone else get out of prison. Without sharing the specific details of the pit I have been trying to get out of for 8 months, I have planted many seeds by helping others get out of the same pit.

I confess it’s frustrating to still be in this pit when I have helped so many other people get out of theirs. The temptation of envy is a shiny object, seeking to lure me into its snare, but I refuse to go there. I thank God for His provision for every single person I have helped get out of the same pit, and I am truly happy and praise God for the deliverance He has brought them. I also continue to help as many people as I can get out of their pits, not out of a selfish desire to sow my own seeds but out of sincere caring for them. I know how painful this pit is for me, so I want to help others get out as I can.

Continued here.

Link to Evans’ Sermon Notes.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace sinking in quicksand and yelling, “Help!” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Finding Hope in Detours

Leave a Reply

