God’s Detours in our Lives

Tony Evans gave a sermon series on his book, Detours: The Unpredictable Path to Your Destiny, which I found very helpful for my present season of life. To make a long story short, one area of my life has been gradually growing worse for a couple of years. It took a nosedive a year ago and then a second nosedive in November. At that point, I sensed God’s direction that “it’s time to move on.” Believe me, I was beyond ready to move on!

Since then, though, God has opened no doors for me to actually move on. In February, this situation nosedived into another dimension, causing me to question whether I could continue on this path. I was frustrated because I knew God was telling me it was time to move on, and yet He left me in the same situation that grew significantly worse in February. A possible “out” came along around the same time but did not pan out, and I was very confused as to why. Then, God brought me Tony Evans’ Detours sermon series, which helped me understand what God was doing. While I was still neck deep in a bad situation, I was reassured that God was with me, that I had not misunderstood God’s leading, and that God really was working, even though I could not see it.

All I will share in this series is my own personal application of what I learned through Evan’s sermon series. If you are on a divine detour and want to understand what’s going on, I encourage you to read Evans’ book because he does a much better job than I can explaining what God is doing. This can help you not feel abandoned in your current detour and build your trust that God truly is in control, knows what He is doing, and has something wonderful planned for you.

Continued here.

Link to Evans’ Sermon Notes.

[Graphic: Cover of Detours: The Unpredictable Path to Your Destiny. Courtesy Amazon.]

One thought on “God’s Detours in our Lives

Leave a Reply

