How to Obey God When It’s Hard

will_doContinued from here.

In my last blog entry, I promised to share the steps I take to stay obedient to God when I really, really, REALLY don’t want to.

Step 1 is to spend more time with God. When I am having an obedience problem, I’ll double up my time with Him. I’ll spend more time in prayer telling God all of the reasons why I don’t want to obey and then asking Him to change my “want to” to align with His. I’ll double the number of songs in my praise & worship time with an emphasis on songs that focus on praising God in the storm. And I’ll spend more time in His Word, focusing on Scripture that is applicable to my area of struggle.

Step 2 is figuring out which of the four fundamental beliefs I am struggling with the most because when I fully believe all four of them, I don’t have an obedience problem. Which am I doubting the most? God’s love? His goodness? His presence with me in this situation? Or His control over this area of my life? While I might be wrestling with more than one area, I’ll typically notice that one link is the weakest, so that’s where I’ll focus my efforts.

Step 3 is repentance. I’ll admit to God that I have been struggling with doubting His presence in this situation and ask His forgiveness. Don’t worry – He already knows! I will tell God that while my circumstances are tempting me to doubt His presence, I choose to believe His Word over my circumstances. (Yes, this is hard for me to do as well.)

Step 4 is to meditate on Scripture that builds my faith in that weak link area. For example, if I am struggling to believe that God is walking through this situation with me, I’ll meditate on Deut. 31:6 and Heb. 13:5. I’ll tell God that while I don’t feel His presence, I know He is with me because His Word says He is.

Step 5 is to obey God anyway. No matter how many doubts assail me, I’ll tell God, “I love You more. I’ve put all my eggs in Your basket, so either You will come through, or I’ll fail. I WILL obey You, no matter what I see.” This kind of faith is not easy, but it really is that simple.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace checking items off a checklist and saying, “Will do!” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

One thought on “How to Obey God When It’s Hard

Leave a Reply

