Obeying God When It’s Hard

zipped_mouthContinued from here.

My struggle between the desire of my flesh and my desire to serve God is probably evident in my last few blog entries. I really don’t want to stay in this particular situation in my life, and it’s within my power to leave it. However, God has not given me the green light to leave (yet), so I cannot leave at this time and stay within God’s will. For the last few months, I’ve been obedient on the outside by remaining under this unwanted authority, but I haven’t been obedient on the inside with my mouth (complaining) or my attitude.

So, how do I continue on in a situation I don’t want to be in without complaining and having a bad attitude? It all comes down to love. If I love God, I’ll do what He tells me to do. It really is that simple. Unfortunately, simple is not always easy, and this is certainly not easy for me.

Perhaps you find yourself in a similar situation. You know that God wants you to stay in a situation that you really, really, REALLY don’t want to be in. The World tells you to leave (and the World will give you permission to leave pretty much any situation or commitment you have ever made), and it seems like your life would be much better if you could simply remove this thorn from your flesh yourself. How do you stay the course?

The answer is love. As Henry Blackaby, Richard Blackaby, and Claude King said in their book, Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God , if you have an obedience problem, then you have a love problem. When you truly love God, you choose to do what He tells you to do, even when you really, really, REALLY don’t want to.

What helps me is to continually remind myself about the four fundamental beliefs: God loves me, He is good, He is with me, and He is in control. I’ll share my “how to” steps in my next blog entry.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of a head shot of Grace with her mouth literally zipped with a zipper. Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Obeying God When It’s Hard

Leave a Reply

