Change Your Attitude

rainbowContinued from here.

In my last blog entry, I talked about how I have been complaining about an area of my life that I am tired of dealing with. I have made the decision to stop complaining, even though the circumstances have gotten worse rather than better. But watching my mouth is not enough – I also need to change my attitude.

I previously shared that I am inspired by Vicktor Frankl, who managed to keep a positive attitude in a concentration camp. The situation I am frustrated with is nowhere near the level of intensity of what Frankl dealt with. If he could keep a positive attitude there, then God can certainly equip me for a positive attitude here.

One concept I have been pondering to help me choose a better attitude is that I am a servant of God. A servant doesn’t get to tell the master what he wants to do. The master tells the servant what to do, and the servant does it, whether he likes it or not. So, I’m trying to keep the attitude that if God wants me metaphorically cleaning latrines, then that’s what the Master has called me to do. It’s a job that needs to be done, the Master has chosen me as His servant to do it, and so I need to do it with a positive attitude. Whether or not I like the assignment is not relevant. I cannot call God my LORD and refuse to submit to His authority.

As I have previously shared, submitting to authority is not my strength. In my flesh, I don’t want to do it at all, and if I do, the authority better be trustworthy. This particular situation involves my struggles with earthly authority that I do not trust. However, I do trust God, and He’s my Master. Thus, until He tells me the latrines are clean enough to stop, I need to keep doing the assignment He has given me, not because I like the earthly authority but because I trust my LORD.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of a head shot of Grace looking at a rainbow over her head. Courtesy Bitmoji.]

5 thoughts on “Change Your Attitude

  1. This was most beautiful and very though evoking. Thank you J

    Like

  2. You are God’s child, not a servant. You listen to Him because you want to please Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

