Am I on the Right Path?

i_dont_knowContinued from here.

A delay in the harvest can cause us to question whether we are even doing God’s will or whether we misunderstood God’s direction for us. When we aren’t seeing results from our labors, we can easily assume that we must be on the wrong path. However, many people in the Bible did not see immediate fruits for their labors. Abraham, Moses, Noah, and David are examples of people who had a wait a long time before they saw a payoff.

We also cannot assume that things getting worse instead of better is a sign that we are on the wrong path. For example, Nehemiah dealt with strong opposition throughout the entire project of rebuilding the wall around Jerusalem. Paul also indicated the we can face opposition even when the direction from God is clear:

But I will stay on at Ephesus until Pentecost, because a great door for effective work has opened to me, and there are many who oppose me.” ~ 1 Cor. 16:8-9

When I don’t see results, I sometimes question whether I am “hearing” correctly from God. I have noticed that as I partake in the path that God has led me on, I feel more alive. It’s like my battery has been plugged in – I can feel energy flowing through me. As I work on the task, I feel energized rather than drained, even when I am not seeing fruits for my labors.

The converse is also true. When I’m continuing along a path that God is leading me away from … or whenever I walk on a path that He has not called me to …. I won’t feel energized. Instead, I’ll feel drained.

Learning how to discern God’s leading can be challenging at times, so spend time in prayer asking God for wisdom and discernment about where He is calling you to serve Him. Sometimes His calling is only for a season, and as He is drawing you away from that path, you’ll find that you are no longer energized and have lost your passion. Meanwhile, another direction will seem to call to you. Sometimes, it’s a direction that has never appealed to you in the past. When that happens, I know that God is working in me because I feel a passion for a direction that has never appealed to me in my natural state. I actually find those paths easier to follow because I know only divine intervention would make them look appealing to me.

As you grow closer to God, your interests will better align with His, and you will find yourself being drawn in directions you never imagined would interest you. Keep praying and trusting God enough to keep moving forward. Follow wherever He leads, and you’ll be amazed by the journey that God has planned for you.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace scratching her head and saying, “I don’t know.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Am I on the Right Path?

Leave a Reply

