How Do You Know That God Exists?

i_dont_knowContinued from here.

After my father died unexpectedly when I was 16 years old, I walked away from my faith for 11 years. I questioned my faith to its very core, including how I could even know that God exists. After all, I cannot see Him or touch Him, so how could I be sure that He even exists?

My answer to that question today is simple: I have no other explanation for the amazing transformation that has taken place in me … a transformation that has been so profound that numerous people in my life have noticed and commented upon it. Let me give you a snapshot of the “before” and “after:”

Before After
Intense self-loathing Self-acceptance, even of my many quirks
Binge eating disorder Healthy diet and exercise with a steady, healthy weight
Judgmental with a potty mouth Compassionate and accepting of people exactly where they are & absence of profanity
Control freak Patient and much more comfortable in dealing with change and the unknown
Extremely self-absorbed Progressively more focused on deferring my own preferences to others
Constant complainer who was driven by intense emotions in the aftermath of child abuse Progressively choosing gratitude over grumbling by choosing to focus on the blessings rather than the problems
Very bitter and unforgiving I have fully forgiven everyone who has ever wronged me, including my childhood abusers.
People pleaser who avoided confrontation at all costs Assertive person who truly does not care what other people think of me, as long as God loves me.
Rebellious, manipulative, and distrusting of authority Trust that God is in control, and I submit to authority out of love for God.

People with my history of child abuse and aftereffects of suicidal urges, self-injury, eating disorder, anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), panic attacks, insomnia, etc. don’t experience the level of transformation that has happened to me, even after years of therapy. I was told in therapy to be realistic about my therapy goals, and the changes I have undergone would not have been “realistic” … and yet they happened. I have no other explanation other than that there is, in fact, a God who is more powerful than my brokenness was.

I can relate to the man who Jesus healed of blindness in his conversation with the Pharisees:

A second time they [the Pharisees] summoned the man who had been blind. ‘Give glory to God by telling the truth,’ they said. ‘We know this man [Jesus] is a sinner.’
He replied, ‘Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!’ ~ John 9:24-24

You ask how I know there is a God. My response is simple: “One thing I do know. I was broken, but now I’m healed.”

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace scratching her head and saying,  “I don’t know.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “How Do You Know That God Exists?

Leave a Reply

