Where was God When I was Being Hurt?

where_are_youContinued from here.

People who have suffered from specific events that rocked their world often ask where God was when that event was happening. They often believe that God left them, didn’t notice them, or ignored their suffering. I wrestled with this question over the child abuse I suffered. The hardest part for me to reconcile was that my abuse actually got worse after I became a Christian. While I could somewhat understand why God might not intervene on behalf of someone who didn’t know Him, I could not wrap my mind around how He could stand back and do nothing while a little girl of 8, 9, and 10 years old—who had Jesus living in her heart—was suffering from severe trauma. Where was God while I was being abused?

The answer I received was that God was right there with me – His heart breaking as He watched mine shatter. That begged the question of how He could be right there with me in a front row seat watching the harm being inflicted on my mind, body, and psyche without doing a thing to stop it. The answer I received was that He was already working on a plan to heal my pain and transform the ashes of my pain into beauty that would bless others in the future.

Many of God’s promises in the Bible are conditional upon us doing our part first. However, one critical unconditional promise is this:

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” ~ Deut. 31:6

Once you receive Jesus into your heart, God will NEVER leave you or FORSAKE you. Never!! That means that whatever you suffer – even being raped as a little kid – happens with God right there next to you. God sees what happens to you, and He WILL bring justice if what you suffered was at the hands of somebody else. And as your heart is being shattered into 1,000 pieces, He is already planning how He will bind up your broken heart. In fact, He can do for you what He did for me – give you a new heart altogether!

Our God is a personal God, and He takes pain being inflicted upon His children very seriously. He is the God who sees you. He sees all that you suffer and will work even your deepest pains for good.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace looking through a telescope and asking, “Where are you?” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Where was God When I was Being Hurt?

Leave a Reply

