Tough Questions Series

whyMany people in my life are struggling with serious issues. One just buried her mother. Another’s husband has been diagnosed with cancer. Another is struggling with depression, making it difficult for her to get out of bed. Another is estranged from her family. Another is struggling with serious marital issues. And the list goes on…

How do we hold onto our faith when we are facing serious issues in our lives? Where is God when our worlds are falling apart? How can we believe that God is good and loves us when our lives come crashing down around us? These are all questions that I have faced in my life, and I’d like to share the conclusions that I reached after much soul searching.

While I certainly have not personally dealt with every serious human condition, I’ve had more than my share. I was severely abuse as a child, including multiple rapes, over a period of several years and was diagnosed with an “incurable” mental health condition as a direct result. (I placed “incurable” in quote because God healed it, anyhow.) My father died unexpectedly when I was 16 years old. I am infertile and became a parent through adoption. I have been parenting a child with several special needs for over 16 years.

I have many understandable, human reasons not to trust God, but I do. I have many life experiences I could point to as “evidence” that God is not good, but I’ll shout God’s goodness from the rooftops! I could build a case for all the reasons I have to be angry with God, but, instead, I will tell you about God’s faithfulness through all of those painful life experiences.

I – an adult survivor of severe childhood abuse – I will tell you unequivocally that God IS good… that He did not abandon me in my childhood … that He does work all things for good … and that He does heal shattered hearts. I know because He has done this for me. Let my life shine the glory of God’s love, truth, and healing power into yours.

Note that timing is everything. If you are in the middle of the turmoil, you might not be in a place to hear the answers I discovered after much soul-searching. This does not make those answers any less true … only difficult for you to process in this season of life. This season will end. I hope this series will plant the seeds for your healing, even if now is not the time to receive them.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace shrugging her shoulders above the word, “Why?” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

One thought on “Tough Questions Series

Leave a Reply

