How Well Do You Know God?

lovedHow well do you know God? I’m not asking how much you know about Him –I’m asking how well you know Him.

In their book Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God, Henry Blackaby, Richard Blackaby, and Claude King do a great job of explaining the difference using this analogy. Let’s say a foster child, who has never had a father, does lots of research on what a father is like. He reads books about fathers, interviews fathers, and learns all about fathers in other ways. No matter how much research he does, he will never achieve the same “knowing” as a four-year-old child who has grown up with a loving father. Why? Because having a father is something we learn through experience, hence the name of their book.

For decades, I knew a lot about God. I read the Bible cover to cover twice. I did a bunch of Bible studies. I learned all about God, but I didn’t know Him. That “knowing” did not come until I made the choice to set aside the first hour of each day to spend with God. Knowing about God for decades did little to change me. However, experiencing God morning after morning completely transformed me!

God says…

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” ~ Jer. 29:13

Seeking God with all of your heart doesn’t mean going to church every Sunday or even reading or studying the Bible. While all of those tasks are important, they cannot replace spending one-on-one time with God. It’s not possible to spend quality time with God and not be transformed. Moses’ face was radiant after spending quality time with God. The coolest part is that as you experience God, He transforms you so that you simply lose interest in the things that used to matter to you, and those interests are replaced with God’s interests. Then, as your interests align with God’s interests, God will meet those desires. Once you have tasted and seen that the Lord is good, your life will never be the same.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace grinning with a heart above her head. Courtesy Bitmoji.]

Leave a Reply

