Perseverance: Choosing Obedience

i_forgive_youContinued from here.

In my last blog entry, I encouraged anyone with a shattered heart to go to God for healing before proceeding with perseverance. I, personally, was too broken to persevere beyond the decision to stay with God until after God healed some of my pain. He is faithful, and He will heal your pain if you will cooperate with Him in His healing process.

After God had completed some healing in my life, the next step toward perseverance was doing what He tells us to do in the Bible. Put another way, I put spiritual disciplines into place, such as the seven fundamental practices, which empowered me to trust God more as He continued to heal my emotional wounds. For example, I learned through experience that He will only heal some emotional wounds if I obey His command to forgive. Forgiveness is actually His mechanism for healing emotional pain, which is why He commands us to forgive.

Believe me – If I can forgive my childhood abusers, you can forgive whoever wronged you. I truly hated my abusers (and had very good reasons to hate them), but I chose to believe God. As I released my hate, anger, bitterness, and rage toward my abusers, God healed my emotional pain. The more I experienced God’s amazing healing power, I more I trusted Him as I moved into future trials.

When we obey God, we align ourselves to receive His power into our lives, whether it’s through emotional healing, financial provision, or another need that we bring to Him. The most powerful reason I have to trust God with the next trial is that He was faithful in the last one. The more I experience God’s faithfulness in my life, the easier it becomes for me to trust Him with the next trial.

If there is any area of your life in which you are choosing disobedience, I strongly encourage you to repent and align your actions with God’s Word. This will invite His power into your situation, and He will prove Himself faithful. That one experience will give you the momentum to trust Him a little more (or distrust Him a little less) as you face your next trial … and the next one … and then the next. God generally won’t intervene in areas of your life in which you refuse to be obedient, so repent, align your ways with God’s Word, and invite God’s power into your situation.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace with a halo and angel’s wings between the words, “I forgive you.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Perseverance: Choosing Obedience

Leave a Reply

