Digesting God’s Word: Wrap Up

elbow.pngContinued from here.

I hope you enjoyed working through Galatians 6:9 and did not find the process too tedious. I blogged about this topic because I needed it myself. I am in a season of heavy spiritual attack. In addition to the challenges I have shared and others that I did not, my teenage son broke his elbow in a flag football game and needs surgery to repair it. I cannot seem to catch my breath before the next blow comes, and I so desperately want to see a harvest for all of the good I have done and continue to do.

Giving up is not an option for me. God has been faithful too many times for me to doubt that He will be faithful again. Despite God’s positive track record with me, I still struggle. I know better than to indulge in “Why me?” thoughts, so I keep pressing on, trusting and believing that God will come through.

I have been meditating on Mercy Me’s new song, Even If, which beautifully captures the cry of my soul as I continue to do good, even when little in my life makes sense, and I don’t see the harvest that God has promised. I know it is coming, but I don’t know when. I try to consider it pure joy that I am facing trials of many kinds, but what I feel is tired … and the temptation to give up, but I won’t … because I love God more. As I have told God repeatedly, all of my eggs are in His one basket. Either He will come through, or I will fall. There is no third option.

Let the beauty and truth of these lyrics by Mercy Me wash over you and refresh you as you keep pressing on, never giving up doing good. You WILL reap a harvest IF you do not give up.

But God when You choose
To leave mountains unmovable
Give me the strength
To be able to sing
It is well with my soul

I know You’re able
And I know You can
Save through the fire
With Your mighty hand
But even if You don’t
My hope is You alone

I know the sorrow
I know the hurt
Would all go away
If You’d just say the word
But even if You don’t
My hope is You alone

It is well with my soul”

[Graphic: X-ray of Grace’s son’s broken elbow. Courtesy Urgent Care.]

2 thoughts on “Digesting God’s Word: Wrap Up

  1. It is well with my soul!

    Like

Leave a Reply

