Never Tire of Doing Good

so_tiredToday was a hard day. Without going into detail, in more than one area of my life, God has called me to stand up for other people at a cost to myself and my family. These are situations that I did not have to get involved in. I could have chosen to ignore the pain of others because those situations did not have to “become my problem.” However, I chose to get involved (after prayer) because I felt God calling me to be a voice for people who had no voice themselves.

Here’s the kicker, though … Some of those people do not appear to be grateful for the sacrifices that my family and I have made for them. These are people who are in pain, which I know can “drown out” the bigger picture. As this is something I have struggled with myself, I am hardly in the position to judge. Nevertheless, when my family and I make big sacrifices for people without receiving so much as a “thank you,” it can cause me to question whether I should have bothered. Thankfully, the Bible provides us with the answer to that question:

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” ~ Galatians 6:9

Doing the right thing would be easy if we always reaped an immediate harvest. If every time I did what was right, I received an immediate blessing, it would be very easy for me to keep making right choices. However, sometimes God calls us to do the right thing, but there is no immediate reward. There might not even be a long-term reward in this lifetime. In fact, sometimes instead of a reward, we suffer for doing the right thing. How do we keep going when we seemingly get nothing out of doing the right thing other than suffering, pain, and rejection?

The Bible tells us in James to…

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” ~ James 1:2-4

When you are growing weary of doing good, don’t give up! Remember that your delayed blessing is building perseverance, growing you toward maturity and completeness so you will lack nothing. God says a harvest is coming. Believe Him, even when you do not see it.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace looking exhausted under the words, “So tired.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

One thought on “Never Tire of Doing Good

  1. Thanks Grace, I really needed to hear this today!
    Robin

    Like

Leave a Reply

