Light during the Storms of Life

stormI am living in a storm right now. I have been sick with a fever, congestion, and cough for 10 days, causing me to miss two weeks of church, including the last session for a Bible study that I have led for over a decade and am stepping down from leading. My throat has been too sore to do much praying aloud, and I have been unable to sing praise and worship songs to God. I haven’t had the energy to study my Bible as much as I would like. In fact, my quiet time with God over the past few days has mostly been me lying down, imagining my head in His lap, as I listen to songs reminding me that God is always with me, no matter where I am.

On top of this, my professional life is unstable, to say the least. I don’t know how much longer I will be employed or where I will go if/when my current employment ends. Many people I care about have already lost their jobs. Meanwhile, my husband just recently changed jobs, which has been a great move professionally, but he is in the transitional phase that comes with any new job, causing him stress. I have received more contact from my son’s school over the past week than I would like … and so it goes.

Right now, my life is stormy. I cannot see very far in front of me because the rain is so heavy, and I must rely on God to lead every step because I cannot see what is ahead. Nevertheless, my life is not dark because God’s hope has become an anchor for my soul. God’s hope shines light, so I don’t have to sit in the dark during the storms of life. I can have hope, no matter how stormy my life gets, because I know that God loves me, is good, is here with me, and is in control over my life. His purpose and plan for me are good, so I will not fear because my God is with me.

If I keep my eyes focused on the storms in my life right now, all seems hopeless. However, because I choose to focus my eyes on my God instead, I know that the story is not over yet. Yes, this season of life is difficult, but God is working it all for good. I trust Him, and that shines light into my storm.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace holding an umbrella in a storm with the waters rising up to her waist. Courtesy Bitmoji.]

3 thoughts on “Light during the Storms of Life

  1. God has you right where He want you. Stay in the Now. His time, where He is. He has you in His arms and He will lead you to where it is you need to go. Trust Him. Your must keep your eyes upon Him and not the storms in your life. God bless.

    Like

  2. […] shared in my last two blog entries that I have been dealing with a bad cold. Per my doctor, that turned out to be the flu followed by […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

