Promised Land Living: Helmet of Salvation Example

Let me give you a personal example of how to use the Helmet of Salvation to hold every thought captive to Christ. Because of the childhood abuse, I grew up believing that I was fundamentally unlovable. I thought that if anyone ever saw the “real me,” he or she would run screaming from the room. I viewed myself as loathsome, so I could not fathom anyone else finding anything lovable about me. I built much of my identity around this lie.

God’s Word says the complete opposite of what I believed about myself. It says that God loves me lavishly, that His love is unfailing, and that Jesus found me worth dying for, even while I was still mired in my sin.

I had to decide which to believe – the lies that seemed to be supported by many years of child abuse or God’s Word. Once I chose to believe God’s Word (even though I really didn’t believe it), I put on the Helmet of Salvation and chose to believe God’s Word over my own feelings and past experiences. Whenever Satan tried to push another “I’m unlovable” thought, I fought back with God’s Word. As I persisted in rejecting thoughts that ran counter to God’s Word, the unholy energy stopped poisoning my soul, and I grew to believe God. I began living like someone who is loved.

In her book Praying God’s Word: Breaking Free from Spiritual Strongholds, Beth Moore has already done the work for you of locating numerous Bible verses that address common lies and turning them into prayers. This book includes a chapter entitled Overcoming the Insecurity of Feeling Unloved, which you can use to fight the lie that you are unlovable. The book also includes other very helpful topics, such as overcoming unbelief, feelings of rejection, addiction, food-related strongholds, feelings of guilt, despair resulting from loss, depression, and sexual strongholds. I have found her format to be helpful in doing the same work for topics that she did not include, such as overcoming anxiety.

God’s Word is truth, so whatever you believe that runs contrary to what the Bible says is a lie. As you choose to meditate on truth and reject any thought that runs contrary to that truth, you put on the Helmet of Salvation and protect your soul from Satan’s poison. This is one of the keys to Promised Land Living.

[Graphic: Cover of Praying God’s Word: Breaking Free from Spiritual Strongholds. Courtesy Amazon.com.]

One thought on “Promised Land Living: Helmet of Salvation Example

Leave a Reply

