What is Promised Land Living?

workin_itI keep mentioning Promised Land Living on my blog, so I should probably define what I mean by that. God promises all sorts of fabulous blessings for those who choose to embrace Jesus not only as Savior but as Lord. Here are some of those blessings:

God promises even more blessings for His disciples in the Bible, but that’s a nice sampling.

As Priscilla Shirer pointed out in her Bible study, Armor of God, God does not place these blessings in our hands, but He puts them within our reach. This means that God makes these blessings available to us, but we must do our part to receive them. Receiving Jesus as your Savior is not enough; to enjoy His blessings, you must also make him Lord.

When the Israelites entered the Promised Land, they didn’t just walk in and receive the land – they had to fight for it. They had to make an effort. While God promised they would succeed in conquering the land, they couldn’t just sit around waiting to receive it. They had to put blood, sweat, and tears into conquering the Promised Land.

The same holds true for spiritual Promised Land living. God has promised you victory, but it’s going to require effort. This means that you cannot keep doing what you have always done and expect God to rain blessings into your life. You need to DO what God says you need to do, such as the seven fundamental practices.

I used to believe all I needed to do to experience Promised Land living was to receive Jesus as my Savior and pray. That did not turn out to be the case. Despite having received Jesus as my Savior at age 8, I continued to live in emotional bondage throughout my teen years, twenties, and thirties. Throughout this time, God loved me, but He wasn’t going to do His part until I did mine.

I started doing my part in March 2013, and God rained so many blessings down on me that I stayed on a spiritual high for months … not because my life was suddenly easier (it wasn’t) but because I was doing my part, which invited God to do His.

No more lazy Christianity, folks! It’s time to learn what God requires of us, roll up our sleeves, and get to work! That’s what the Bible means by discipleship, and only Jesus’ disciples are promised the blessings in the above bulleted list and beyond.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace running on a treadmill and holding dumbells above the words, “Workin’ It.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “What is Promised Land Living?

  1. […] recently wrote a series about Promised Land Living. To help explain my points, I included graphics showing how we have to choose between pulling in […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

