Importance of Authenticity

real_talkContinued from here.

In my last blog entry, I mentioned the Pharisees, who Jesus rebuked because of their hypocrisy. Interestingly, Jesus told people to do what the Pharisees said, just not what they did.

If you want to grow in your relationship with God, you need to be authentic. Stop worrying about what other people think about what you say or do. Instead, be your authentic self.

As I shared in my last blog entry, I used to be a people pleaser. I said and did the right things so people would like me, but I wasn’t authentic. God didn’t start healing me from all of my emotional wounds until I “got real.”

When God led me to the place of dealing with my childhood wounds, all pretense went out the door. I didn’t have the energy to pretend like I was OK. It took all of my energy just to get through the day!

I stopped pretending to be OK and was the “authentic me” for the first time in my life. It wasn’t pretty, but you know what? My church family didn’t reject me! I wrote down “emotional healing” as my only prayer request for four years in my weekly Bible study, and the only comments I received were of support and sadness that I continued to hurt after such a long period of time.

Now that God has healed my emotional wounds, I have a church full of people who can attest that I am not putting on a show in my joy and peace. They saw me at my worst, and they also saw how powerfully God transformed me, which has brought so much glory to God! Nobody who saw the real “broken me” has any illusions about my own ability to heal myself. Only a powerful God could have transformed that hot mess into someone who is joyful and peaceful.

Psalm 139 beautifully explains how fully God knows you. There’s no point in pretending because God knows who you really are. And here’s the best part! He loves you, even if you are a hot mess like I was.

Pretense is a waste of time. If you are ready to get serious about being Jesus’ disciple and truly want to experience Promised Land living, it’s time to get real. Stop pretending to be something you’re not. Be your authentic self. It’s requires less energy and is such a relief!

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace sitting in a chair next to a plant below the words, “Real Talk.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

One thought on “Importance of Authenticity

Leave a Reply

