Grace’s Journey: Reaping What You Sow

Continued from here.

Also in 2015, God introduced me to the concept of sowing and reaping. Teachings by both Tony Evans and Joyce Meyer helped me understand this principle. Tony Evans’ book, Horizontal Jesus, was particularly helpful.

In the farming world, the concept of sowing and reaping is obvious. For example, if I want to reap a harvest of pumpkins, I plant pumpkin seeds, right? I wouldn’t plant apple seeds and expect to harvest pumpkins. I also would not expect to harvest pumpkins without planting any seeds. Seems obvious, right?

However, for some reason, most of us don’t understand that the same principles apply in our spiritual and emotional lives. For example, I wanted to reap joy in my life, but I kept sowing the seeds of unforgiveness and bitterness. I kept praying for joy, but joy eluded me because I was not doing what God said to do! God says that if we want to reap joy, then we must plant the seeds of obedience. God says that we are to forgive and give thanks. If we do not forgive or give thanks, then we are sowing the wrong seeds to reap a harvest of joy.

In addition, human nature is to hoard what we want more of, but what would happen if the farmer refused to plant any pumpkin seeds? He wouldn’t get a harvest of pumpkins, right? The same is true when we hoard what we want more of, which is why God tells us to tithe. When we tithe, we are planting seeds that will reap a harvest of financial provision.

Even God Himself abides by this principle. How did He go about getting more children? He gave his one and only Son and reaped a harvest of children.

This concept revolutionized how I view my choices. Every choice I make – every seed I sow – will result in a future harvest, so I need to be mindful of what I am planting today. If I choose to plant seeds of ungratefulness, selfishness, or bitterness, I can expect to reap a harvest of depression and anxiety. If I want a harvest of joy, I need to plant seeds of thanksgiving, humility, and forgiveness. The choice is mine.

The other part I need to remember is that the farmer does not plant pumpkin seeds today and then harvest a crop in a few hours or a few days. Whatever I sow takes times to reap a harvest, which is why I should not give up when I don’t experience an immediate change. Whatever I am reaping today was sown a while ago, and whatever I sow today will reap a harvest in the future. It’s up to me what I choose to sow.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cover of Evans’ book, Horizontal Jesus. Courtesy Amazon.com.]

6 thoughts on “Grace’s Journey: Reaping What You Sow

  1. […] on God, which always makes me feel better – not always in the moment, but soon. Remember that we reap what we sow, so planting seeds of praise & worship helps us sow a harvest of joy and […]

    Like

  2. […] you need further reassurance, check out my blog entry on sowing & reaping. Tithing is the mechanism God uses to provide for all of your physical needs (what to eat, drink, […]

    Like

  3. […] to God, we begin pulling more of God’s holy energy into our souls. This is the key to the sowing and reaping principle. If I need more financial provision, I need to tithe — regardless of how I feel […]

    Like

  4. […] good, which is one of my favorite promises in the Bible. I previously wrote about the topic of sowing and reaping. It excited me because this principle gives me some measure of control over my life. As a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

