Grace’s Journey: Submitting to Husband’s Authority

helpContinued from here.

August of 2015 was a difficult month for me. My extended family experienced significant strife that (sadly) continues to this day. I needed wisdom and discernment for how to handle this contentious situation, so I prayed to God because He promises to give wisdom to those who ask Him for it. However, God did not give me that wisdom and discernment directly. Instead, He placed on my heart that I was to ask my husband and submit to his authority for how to proceed. (Groan)

Based on all of the “groans” I have peppered into my recounting of this season of life, you can surmise that this was not the answer I wanted to hear. I had gotten used to praying to God and Him responding to me directly, whether through a tugging in my Spirit, the wise words of a Christian friend, or through His Word. This time, God only gave me one avenue to the wisdom I sought, and that was through submission to my husband – through asking his advice and doing whatever he recommended, regardless of how I felt about that advice. (Groan)

With great reluctance, I dragged myself to my husband and humbly asked for his advice. (My guess is that God got the same chuckle out of my drama as I used to get when my then-toddler reluctantly and dramatically did what I told him to do.) And you know what? God opened the floodgates of wisdom for my husband. He knew exactly what to do, and it was all brilliant. God came through in powerful ways by giving me the answers I needed while doing it in a way that taught me my role in my marriage.

Since that experience, submission to my husband (groan) has become easier. As you can see, 18 months of experience in consistently submitting to my husband has not removed the internal reluctance. My initial reaction is almost always to do what I want to do. However, I have learned through experience and effort not to listen to that initial response. Regardless of how I feel, I will submit to my husband’s legitimate authority because I love God, and I trust that if my husband oversteps this authority (he hasn’t), God will intervene and protect me.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace sinking in quicksand, holding up her hand and yelling, Help!” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Grace’s Journey: Submitting to Husband’s Authority

Leave a Reply

