Grace’s Journey: Value of Submitting to Authority

i_cant_evenContinued from here.

Thanks for returning to read the rest of the story. I know that submitting to authority is unpopular and goes against the grain in a society that got its start by rebelling against authority. Believe me – If God can get me to believe Him on this, He can reach anyone!

In 2015, God moved me into extremely uncomfortable territory – submitting to authority, including my husband. While I have 18 months of practice, I still internally groaned when I wrote that sentence. I don’t want you thinking that obedience to God in this area (or in any area, for that matter) comes easily to me. It doesn’t. I have to keep reminding myself that God loves me, is good, is with me, and is in control to be able to push through my internal revulsion at submitting to anyone other than Him… and even submitting to Him took a lot of effort. Without the four pillars of fundamental beliefs, I truly could not do it.

In the Summer of 2015, God placed on my heart that I needed to submit to my husband. (Groan) I didn’t want to do it, so I looked for ways to make this idea less repulsive. (Truly no offense to my husband. He’s a great guy who loves me and wouldn’t hurt me for anything. This was my issue, not his.)

I eased myself in by reframing submission as “being willing to yield.” God let me do that for a while, but then He placed heavily on my heart that he actually does mean submit. If I wanted to continue experiencing God’s joy, I had to do what He told me to do. Period. I wanted God’s joy more than I was repulsed by submission, so I … very grudgingly … made the life decision to submit to my husband’s legitimate authority. This means that if he and I have different perspectives on how to handle a situation, such as with our son, I defer to his judgment, no matter how strongly I disagree. (Groan) Tony Evans and Chrystal Evans Hurst’s book, Kingdom Woman, really helped with this because Hurst shared specific examples of how God blessed her obedience in these types of situations.

God then placed me in a painful and complicated situation in which my only direction would come through my husband.

Continued here.

[Graphic: Cartoon of Grace lying on the ground, looking down, and dramatically saying, “I can’t even.” Courtesy Bitmoji.]

2 thoughts on “Grace’s Journey: Value of Submitting to Authority

Leave a Reply

